Linking boards

Questions about the Really Bare Bones Board
shags199

Linking boards

Post by shags199 » Tue Nov 25, 2008 8:39 pm

I am a software engineer working with emulators. I am still getting my feet wet but I have come across two types of busses. How could I implement a combination software/hardware solution to link two or more of the boards and communicate via one of the digital input/output pins? I was hoping to use a facsimile of CAN 2.0b but with a software emulation of it not necessarily a hardware solution. I will work out the software part but I need help understanding how I might get the next board to receive the bit stream in order to do with something with it. Any links would be great.

I am just playing around with communication with two of your boards (I have one of each). I was hoping to get the BBB to talk to the RBBB acting like the main controller and then use the RBBB for a subsystem controller. Is this possible? Sorry if this is elementary, I am a noob to robotics so the hardware implementation is sometimes confusing for me. I am not sure I will use this in a robot but I want to know how to do it so maybe when I get a little further along I can get two bots to link and talk or create a more complex bot with subsystems.

Thank you

paul
Site Admin

Re: Linking boards

Post by paul » Tue Nov 25, 2008 10:13 pm

shags199,

I think some people have made some progress on a CAN bus - you can check the Arduino forum and also the Exhibition section of my forum for a "MODBUS" implementation.

However I think your best bet for interchip communication is asynchronous serial. The Atmega has a USART built in so it receives in hardware without bogging down the processor, If you use the RX and TX lines you can take advantage of the serial commands. See "Serial.print" etc in the Arduino docs.