The reset button

Questions and Discussion concerning the Bare Bones Board
Post Reply
tatticus
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:57 pm

The reset button

Post by tatticus »

So what is the physical reset button actually for on the Arduino boards?

I've used a couple dozen BBB's in various art peices and anymore I don't even bother soldering in the reset button. My guess is possibly an Arduino's code will sometimes lock up and this will fix it? How would this be different from just unplugging the power supply and starting it back up though?

Am I tempting fate by omitting this button? Any ideas why I should have an acessible reset button? :?:
floresta
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 6:52 pm
Location: Western New York, USA
Contact:

Re: The reset button

Post by floresta »

So what is the physical reset button actually for on the Arduino boards?
It causes the processor to run it's code from the beginning, much like it does when you first apply power. This is important when you are troubleshooting code and less important in a finished product.

Don
tatticus
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:57 pm

Re: The reset button

Post by tatticus »

Thanks Don.
That's what I was thinking/hoping but I wanted a more expert opinion.

Since I install these BBB boards directly in my pieces I've started accumulating a little container full of parts I've deemed un-needed for my applications. Lots of headers, the led and it's resistor, the power jack, and these reset switches are all piling up now.
steve smith
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:24 am

Re: The reset button

Post by steve smith »

Hello
you are right tatticus.
Since I install these BBB boards directly in my pieces I've started accumulating a little container full of parts I've deemed un-needed for my applications. Lots of headers, the led and it's resistor, the power jack, and these reset switches are all piling up now.
best regards
steve smith
paul
Site Admin
Posts: 775
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 4:19 pm

Re: The reset button

Post by paul »

If you can't physically get to the reset switch it's useless for sure.

Paul
Quirker
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:29 am

Re: The reset button

Post by Quirker »

Is there any workaround for this, Paul?
paul
Site Admin
Posts: 775
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 4:19 pm

Re: The reset button

Post by paul »

Just add a switch somewhere on the piece and run wires back to where the missing reset switch is. If that's not the answer you were looking for, then you need to put a little more detail in your question please.
Post Reply